DIGC202
Comment 1

Segbwema, Sierra Leone: A City Story

It is an appropriate time to display the relation of my DIGC202 digital project (in collaboration with my BCM240 research component) to this week’s topic of a network society. I am developing a Sierra Leone community platform for members of Segbwema to share stories and record their city’s history.

Conversations with an immigrant from Sierra Leone revealed to me that recording history and personal events was undervalued in his city, a jarring difference he found in Australia. I still have to understand to what extent the difference is. But I desire the openness of such a platform to be held by the people for the people. An ideal I recognise has been repeated by Barlow (1996) into the void of cyberspace.  Control of Cyberspace is the key component to this project and it should be held by the community in Segbwema. The idea of control in Cyberspace appears in all three of the weeks readings; a conflict between users and controlled networks, that is repeated across decades 1994, 2004, and today.  The advent of projects like Facebook’s drone communications will dominate the unconnected world and set in motion the same iterations of centralised networks.

Segbwema

Infographic of current Computer Access

This is a video commentary by a resident of Segbwema, guiding the viewer through his city. It reveals glimpses of the culture and history: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvCggNdSz-Y

1 Comment

  1. Hello!

    What an insightful and warming post! I am very excited to see your project build, I envy your enthusiasm and motivation.

    I am a little embarrassed to share that I had no idea where Sierra Leone was, but now I know. I really enjoy the conversation in the video, I feel like I am with you listening to the resident’s story.

    I am also embarrassed that my parents are furiously annoyed about the NBN being absent in their workplace, when the people of Segbwema do not have a power grid.

    An article from The Economist argues that the the great third wave of economy (the knowledgeable age) is opening up a great divide between a skilled and wealthy few and the rest of society.

    Goodluck with your project!

    The Economist article: http://www.economist.com/news/special-report/21621156-first-two-industrial-revolutions-inflicted-plenty-pain-ultimately-benefited

Leave a Reply

